Included in Issue: Winter 2024

Miscellaneous Pieces

Award Winner’s Summary

Susanne V. Hering Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to aerosol science with a special emphasis on work that has had a significant impact on public health, the built environment, or the global ecosystem.

Ann Marie Carlton

Sheldon K. Friedlander Award

Recognizes an outstanding dissertation by an individual who has earned a doctoral degree. The dissertation can be in any discipline in the physical, biomedical or engineering sciences but has to be in the field of aerosol science and technology.

Haoxuan Chen

Thomas T. Mercer Award

Recognizes excellence in the areas of pharmaceutical aerosols and inhalable materials.

Chantal Darquenne

David Sinclair Award

Recognizes sustained excellence in aerosol research and technology by an established scientist still active in their career. The individual’s research must have a lasting impact in aerosol science.

Barbara Finlayson-Pitts

Kenneth T. Whitby Award

Recognizes outstanding technical contributions to aerosol science and technology by a young scientist.

Gabriel Isaacman-VanWertz

Benjamin Y.H. Liu Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to aerosol instrumentation and experimental techniques that have significantly advanced the science and technology of aerosols.

Jason Olfert

Juan Fernandez de la Mora High-Resolution Half-Mini DMA Prize Competition

Sarah Petters

Aerosol Science & Technology Outstanding Publication Award

This award is bestowed annually to one article published in AS&T without regard to publication date. The award recognizes articles that have had a significant impact on the field.

Particle Morphology and Density Characterization by Combined Mobility and Aerodynamic Diameter Measurements. Part 1: Theory

Peter F. DeCarlo, Jay G. Slowik, Douglas R. Worsnop, Paul Davidovits, and Jose L. Jimenez

Aerosol Science & Technology Outstanding Reviewer Awards

Recipients of the AS&T Outstanding Reviewer Award are chosen annually by the Editors of AS&T. The selections are based on both the frequency and quality of the Reviewers’ contributions.

John Volckens

Jennie Cox

Steven Hill

Claudio Mazzoleni

Xiaoliang Wang

2023 Fellows

Andrea Ferro

Jim Smith

AAAR 2023 Conference Student Poster Competition Winners

Ariana Deegan

Davi de Ferreyro Monticelli

JinGyu Lee

Olivia Sablan

Sofie Schwink

Changjoon Seong

Shubham Sunil Sharma

Toan Vo

Yi Wang

Gabrielle West

AAAR 2023 Conference Student Oral Platform Competition Winners

Erin Emme

Teresa Feldman

Emily Halpern

Zoe Hoskin

Anna Kaehr

Daniel Katz

Kevin Kilchhofer

Adrienne Lambert

Felix Stollberger

Cara Waters

AAAR 2023 Conference Fine Particle Art Microscopic Scale Competition

First Place
Under the Sea by Scott Hollenbeck, Darlene McAllister, Kristin Bunker, Gary Casuccio

Second Place
Cubic Cobra by Marit Meyer, Justine Richardson, Traci Lersch, Kristin Bunker, Gary Casuccio

Third Place
The Universe of CuONPs by Sripriya Nannu Shankar and Chang-Yu Wu

AAAR 2023 Conference Fine Particle Art Macroscopic Scale Competition

First Place
Soot Formed by Enclosed Spray Combustion of Jet Fuel by Una Trivanovic

Second Place
The Importance of Developing and Distributing Improved Cookstoves by Deborah S. Gross and Tsegaye Nega

Third Place
Burj PSL by Julie Pongetti

Fine Particle Art Video Competition

First Place
Rocking the Airwaves by Dylan Farrell, Athena Chaparro, Jennifer Rodriguez, Shane Chapman, Hanyang Li

Second Place
Laser Diagnosis of PtO2 Nanoparticles in a Flame by Evangelos K. Stefanidis, Farnaz Khosravi

Third Place
Particle Formation in a Flame by Shruti Choudhary, Onochie Okonkwo, Yiming Xi, Pratim Biswas

Career Opportunities Link

Interested in a career in aerosol research? Check out job listings and opportunities here:

Key Dates/Reminders

The 2024 Annual Conference will be held in Albuquerque, NM, October 21-25, 2024.

Student Chapter Highlights

AAAR at the University of Arizona by Eva-Lou Edwards

Our student chapter has an on-going collaboration with St. Cyril of Alexandria Catholic School in Tucson, Arizona, which involves engaging 7th and 8th grade students and their science teacher with air quality sensors providing mass concentrations of airborne particulate matter. We were able to purchase a PurpleAir Sensor and an Ambient Weather Station for the school using funding provided by AAAR. This enables the students to study how the air quality around them is affected by winds and rainfall. The students can also compare the air quality at their school with that in other areas in Tucson and the US through the PurpleAir network. They will present their findings at a student-led conference at the University of Arizona.

AAAR at the University of Miami by Shruti Choudhary

The AAAR Student chapter at the University of Miami experienced an engaging semester. The semester kicked off with a meet-and-greet event and a comprehensive onboarding session for new members at the Frost Science Museum. This initial gathering set the tone for a semester filled with collaborative endeavors and knowledge-sharing. Throughout the semester, the chapter organized monthly Aerosol Cafecito sessions, creating a casual yet informative space for members to interact and share their aerosol research endeavors. The student chapter also hosted a watch party for an insightful AAAR monthly seminar by Dr. Jingkun Jiang on using natural ions to measure size distribution of atmospheric aerosols. Additionally, the chapter also hosted a student-led seminar on the “Development of a Hybrid Machine Learning Aerosol Dynamic Model,” by Ph.D. Candidate Onochie Okonkwo.

National Academies Inductees

If you or one of your AAAR colleagues has been inducted into one of the National Academies this year, please share the news with

Other AAAR Member Award Winners

If you or one of your AAAR colleagues has received an award, please send this information to so that we can acknowledge the achievement.

This Issue’s Newsletter Committee:

Editor | Dong Gao, Yale UniversitySenior Assistant Editor | Sarah Petters, University of California, RiversideJunior Assistant Editor | Lindsay Yee, University of California, BerkeleyGuest Contributor | Qian Zhang, UL Research Institute